German for Shark
LP / MP3 (320kbps) / FLAC

German for Shark was to trust each musician to add and subtract, interact with the sound, and practice restraint. These are predominantly improvised sessions committed to record, with limited manipulation of what would become the final songs/tracks.  Each contribution is 'of the moment' — a creation of sound that really can never truly be replicated within a live setting—and that’s the point. 

German for Shark:
Jonathan Krohn – piano/electronics; Benjamin Mjolsness - guitar; Jason Adasiewicz (Exploding Star Orchestra) - vibraphone; Josh Berman (Exploding Star Orchestra) - cornet; Steven Hess (Pan American/Haptic/Fessenden) – percussion; Todd Mattei (Joan of Arc) - guitar; Mike Reed (Exploding Star Orchestra) - percussion; Hometapes recording artist Nick Butcher – tape; and Dave Rempis (Vandermark 5) – saxophone.

Click here to view the German for Shark media kit.

01. M. Wilson, American
02. The Tase (One)
03. Jungle Boys
04. Con Wag
05. Leveler
06. Doom Thus (Two)
07. House of Ride
08. Beard
09. Condo=Life
10. Doom Thus (one)
11. The Tase (Two)

Digital Extras:
12. Con Wag Remix by Dartanjal
13. Artificial Apparition Remix by Colorlist
14. Japanese For Yes Remix by Dan Bitney
15. House of Ride re-process by Anthony Child (Surgeon)

LP issued on grey vinyl and comes bundled with a free 320 kbps MP3 version, double sided poster on newsprint and a 4 track digital bonus of remixes by Anthony Child (Surgeon); Dan Bitney (Tortoise, Bumps); Jim Schoenecker and Jon Minor (Dartanjal); and Charles Rumback and Charles Gorczynski (Colorlist). 

Please select your correct region when ordering, as shipping/handling costs are included in the price. Thanks!



“It’s a fantastic album, and one which continues to mesmerise as you dissect these dense compositions and begin to make sense of them.” -ATTN Magazine

“a radiant set of ambient soundscapes embroidered with gestural detail and enriched with textural variety...” - Chicago Reader


Related Releases:

All Are Welcome
Hunters & Collectors
Various Artists
ground[works]: 2007-2008
Various Artists
Steven Hess, Miles Tilmann